44th Chess Olympiad: Indian Teams in Chess Olympiad, Chennai | Mahaballipuram Venue

Rate this post

Indian Teams in 44th Chess Olympiad: A total of 30 Indian Players across six teams (three in open and three women) will be participating at the Olympiad. Indian team’s three Indian open teams are seeded 2nd, 11th and 17th respectively. Each team will have 5 members.

Indian Teams Members in 44th Chess Olympiad

India-1 Open team members

The second seeded India-1 Open team consists of

  1. Vidit Gujrathi,
  2. P.Harikrishna,
  3. Arjun Erigaisi,
  4. S.L. Narayan and
  5. Sasikaran Krishnan.

India-2 Open team members

The India-2 Open team members are

  1. Nihal Sarin,
  2. D.Gukesh,
  3. B.Adhiban,
  4. R. Praggnanandhaa and
  5. Raunak Sadhwani.

India-3 Open team members

The India-3 open team comprises

  1. Surya Shekhar Ganguly,
  2. S.P. Sethuraman,
  3. Abhijeet Gupta,
  4. Karthikeyan Murali and
  5. Abhimanyu Puranik.

Incidentally, all the 15 players in the Open Team are Grandmasters.

The women’s section

India-1 team

In the women’s section, India-1 team is seeded first while India-2 and India-3 team are seeded 11th and 16th respectively.

The India-1 women’s team consists of

  1. Koneru Humpy,
  2. D.Harika,
  3. R.Vaishali,
  4. Tania Sachdev and
  5. Bhakti Kulkarni.

India-2 team

The India-2 women’s team members are

  1. Vantika Agrawal,
  2. Soumya Swaminathan,
  3. Mary Ann Gomes,
  4. Padmini Rout and
  5. Divya Deshmukh.

India-3 team

The India-3 women’s team comprises

  1. Eesha Karavade,
  2. Sahithi Varshini,
  3. Pratyusha Bodda,
  4. Nandhidhaa PV and
  5. Vishwa Vasnawala.


The 44th Chess Olympiad will be held at the Four Points by Sheraton Mahabalipuram Resort and Convention Centre from July 28 to August 10. The resort is located on the East Coast Road, Chennai.

Four Points by Sheraton Mahabalipuram Resort & Convention Center

Address / Location: Ecr-Omr Junction, East Coast Rd, Poonjeri, Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu 603104

Conveniently located on the East Coast Road (ECR), our hotel is moments from Shore Temple, the beach and top area attractions. Settle into contemporary hotel in Mahaballipuram

Phone: 044 7151 3636


All the matches at the Chess Olympiad will be played in the Classical Swiss League Format


The tournament will begin with ‘Round 1’ on July 29 and continue till ‘Round 11’ on August 9. There will be a rest day on August 4 and teams will depart on August 10.


All the matches will start at 3:00PM IST.


  • July 29: Round 1
  • July 30: Round 2
  • July 31: Round 3
  • August 1: Round 4
  • August 2: Round 5
  • August 3: Round 6
  • August 4: Rest Day
  • August 5: Round 7
  • August 6: Round 8
  • August 7: Round 9
  • August 8: Round 10
  • August 9: Round 11

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *